

Chair

Aric Putnam
3215 Minnesota Senate Building
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-6455
sen.aric.putnam@senate.mn

Vice Chair

Robert J. Kupec

Ranking Minority Member

Torrey N. Westrom

Members

Bruce D. Anderson Gary H. Dahms Gene Dornink Heather Gustafson Mary K. Kunesh Judy Seeberger

Committee Staff:

Committee Administrator

Hunter Pederson (651) 296-5712 hunter.pederson@senate.mn

Committee Legislative Assistant

Jacqueline Borromeo (651) 296-6455 jacqueline.borromeo@senate.mn

Caucus Research

Amanda Pedersen (DFL) Vacant (R)

Legislative Analyst

Laura Paynter

Fiscal Analyst

Erik Olson

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

Wednesday, February 8th, 2023 3:00 p.m. 1150 Minnesota Senate Building

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Poultry Industry Presentation on Avian Influenza
- Bruce Kleven on behalf of Jes Westbrock, President, Minnesota Turkey Growers Association
- Dr. Carol Cardona, DVM, PhD, DACPV; Pomeroy Chair in Avian Health, University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine
- 3. Informational Presentation on Forever Green Initiative and Continuous Living Cover
- Dr. Don Wyse, Co-Founder, Forever Green Initiative, University of Minnesota
- 4. SF 1314 (Seeberger) Forever Green Initiative University of Minnesota appropriation
- Dr. Mitch Hunter, Associate Director, Forever Green initiative
- Anne Schwagerl, Vice President, Minnesota Farmers Union; Co-Founder, Prairie Point Farm; Co-Founder, Perennial Promise Growers Cooperative
- Mac Erhardt, President, Albert Lea Seed
- John Satumba, Global Bakery Category Technical Leader, North America Regional R&D Director, Cargill
- David VandenEinde, Vice President, Global Oils & Fats R&D Leader, Cargill
- Alexandra Griffin, Graduate Student, University of Minnesota
- Randy Ellingboe, Manager (Ret.), Minnesota Department of Health Drinking Water Protection Program

Minnesota Senate Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee

- 5. SF 1353 (Gustafson) Continuous living cover crops and cropping systems appropriation
- Colin Cureton, Director of Adoption and Scaling, Forever Green Initiative
- Christopher Abbott, Founder, Perennial Pantry
- Ben Penner, Vice President, Perennial Promise Growers Cooperative; Founder, Ben Penner Farms
- Wilber de la Rosa, Manager of Farm Outreach and Technical Assistance,
 Regenerative Agriculture Alliance
- Dan Skogen, Director of Government Relations, Agricultural Utilization Research Institute (AURI)
- 6. Adjournment